Data Service / Atlas of Taiwan Climate Change Key Indices

Atlas of Taiwan Climate Change Key Indices

This atlas presents a series of figures featuring key climate change indices. The indices, established by the Taiwan Climate Change Projection Information and Adaptation Knowledge Platform (TCCIP), are selected from World Meteorological Organization (WMO) designated the Climate Change Detection and Indices (CCDI). Commonly concerned key climate indices are included, such as extreme temperatures, rainstorm, and drought…, etc.

The atlas features figures regarding the aforementioned key climate change indices under different global warming scenarios defined by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). The figures are categorized according to different spatial units, including countrywide, regional (i.e. northern, central, southern, and eastern Taiwan), and countywide scales. The Atlas of Taiwan Climate Change Key Indices aims to assist readers in understanding, referencing, and evaluating information regarding the projected future climate in Taiwan.

Data collection and processing

The data in the atlas consists of observed data and model data, which features daily observations with 5km*5km grid established by the TCCIP phase III and Coupled Model Intercomparison Project Phase 5 (CMIP5) model outputs, respectively. After conducting statistical downscaling on the data, the ensemble average of each group scenario is calculated and analyzed. Detailed description of models is included in the frequently asked questions (FAQs) section.

Baseline period and change rate calculation

The referred baseline period in the altas was 1986–2005. The projected climate change rate in the 21st century is divided into near-term (2016–2035), mid-term (2046–2065), and long-term (2081-2100) periods, respectively.

The change rate calculation method is explained as follows. For each climate index, do the calculation for each grid point. Then subtract the mean value of that point in the baseline period (i.e. 1986–2005) from it and get the difference for the projected period. Subsequently, divide the difference by the mean value in the base period (i.e. 1986–2005) to get the change rate (%) for each grid point. Lastly, the mean change rate for each region is calculated.

Space division

According to Central Weather Bureau (CWB), Taiwan can be separated into four regions or 18 cities/counties. The four regions and the consistence of cities/counties are northern (Keelung, Taipei, New Taipei City, Taoyuan, Hsinchu, and Miaoli); central (Taichung, Changhua, Nantou, Yunlin, and Chiayi); southern (Tainan, Kaohsiung, and Pingtung); and eastern (Yilan, Hualien, and Taitung) Taiwan. Additionally, this atlas features information on the Penghu, which is classified as an offshore island region. However, this atlas lacks related information for Kinmen and Lienchiang.

資料服務站 / 氣候圖集

臺灣氣候變遷關鍵指標圖集

本圖集提供一系列圖表,其中關鍵指標是TCCIP計畫依據世界氣象組織(World Meteorological Organization,WMO)所建議的氣候變遷偵測與指標(Climate Change Detection and Indices, CCDI),其中包含我們所特別關心的極端高溫、極端低溫、暴雨以及乾旱…等關鍵極端氣候指標。

將上述氣候變遷關鍵指標,分別依據全國、四大分區以及各縣市不同的空間單元,以及IPCC所定義的不同暖化情境下,進行圖表的繪製並集結成冊,期待讀者可以透過『臺灣氣候變遷關鍵指標圖集』,能了解且可快速查閱臺灣氣候變遷未來推估相關資訊。(圖集電子檔)

資料蒐集與處理

資料來源分為兩部分:觀測資料與模式資料,觀測資料為臺灣氣候變遷推估資訊與調適知識平台(Taiwan Climate Change Projection and Information Platform,TCCIP)III計畫所產製的日時間尺度5公里網格,模式資料為CMIP5(Coupled Model Intercomparison Project Phase 5)模式輸出,經由統計降尺度方法處理後所得之結果,取每組情境實驗之系集平均計算與分析,其模式說明詳見常見問題Q&A。

基期時段與改變率計算

氣候變遷關鍵指標推估使用的參考基期時段為1986-2005,而21世紀氣候改變的推估,分別為近未來(2016~2035年)、世紀中(2046~2065年)與世紀末(2081~2100年)三個時期。

改變率計算方式為:每個網格點計算出氣候指標後,以各推估時期平均值減去現今氣候基期時段(1986~2005年)之平均值,以計算得出各時期每個網格點之改變量,其數值再除上基期時段(1986~2005年)平均值則為改變率(單位為%)再計算區域平均。

空間分區

根據交通部中央氣象局定義將臺灣分區依範圍大小,共分為四大分區與各縣市18分區。臺灣四大區分別為北、中、南與東部地區。臺灣縣市18分區,依序為基隆市、臺北市、新北市、桃園市、新竹縣(市)及苗栗縣為北部地區,臺中市、彰化縣、南投縣、雲林縣及嘉義縣(市)為中部地區,臺南市、高雄市及屏東縣為南部地區,宜蘭縣、花蓮縣及臺東縣為東部地區,澎湖縣為外島地區(目前暫無金門與連江縣相關資訊)。